Skip to main content

Gainsborough, Thomas, 1727-1788



  • Existence: 1727 - 1788


Thomas Gainsborough (172-1788), English portrait and landscape painter, draughtsman, and printmaker.

Found in 10 Collections and/or Records:

Album of watercolors and drawings.

Call Number: GEN MSS 831
Abstract: The collection primarily consists of an album filled with drawings, prints, ephemera, and manuscript poems, letters, dedicatory inscriptions, and notes collected or created by John Charles Denham. The album contains 107 small drawings and sketches in graphite, ink, and watercolor by prominent British artists from the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries such as Richard Parkes Bonington, John Flaxman, Sir Thomas Lawrence, Paul Sandby, J. M. W. Turner, and Benjamin West, as well as...
Dates: 1777-1935 1790-1835, bulk 1790-1835

John Ruskin letter to Ellen Heaton, 1857 mid-July

 Item — Box 1: [Barcode: 39002106121412], Folder: H.76
Call Number: MSS 46
Scope and Contents:

Ruskin gives Heaton some advice on what to see at the Manchester Art Treasures Exhibition, praising works by Paul Veroneses, Joshua Reynolds, William Hogarth, Anthony van Dyck and Thomas Gainsborough. Ruskin thanks Heaton for "all [her] notes.". [Date provided by Surtees: Mid-July 1857]

Dates: 1857 mid-July

Letter : Bath, to David Garrick, n.d.

 Part of Collection — Box 200 (Broadside): [Barcode: 39002137226032], Folder: GROUP 1872, F-1
Call Number: GEN MSS MISC
Scope and Contents:

AL, dated "Sunday morning," with typed transcript.

Accompanied by four engravings after Gainsborough: his self portrait, "The Brook by the Way," "Landscape and Cows," and "The Watering Place," and a newspaper clipping about Gainsborough from an unidentified publication.

Dates: n.d.

Letter to the Earl of Upper Ossory, 1786 July 10

 Item — Box 1: Series 1; Series 3; Series 4, Folder: Reynolds 18
Call Number: MSS 30 , Series I
Scope and Contents:

Written from London. Offering to trade Gainsborough's "Girl with Pigs" for a damaged "Venus and Adonis" copied by Titian. Ingamells no. 153.

Dates: 1786 July 10

Letter to William Makepeace Thackeray, 1808 January 17

 Item — [38]
Call Number: MSS 29
Scope and Contents:

Piozzi still worries about the fate of the landscape painting. The "brawn" she ordered to cure Mr. Piozzi's itching has been lost on the road. Piozzi also remarks on the growing local population. People mentioned: Sophia Hoare, Barclay, Mr. Piozzi, Mr. Moore, Mr. Rogers and Lady Keith.

Dates: 1808 January 17

Letter to William Makepeace Thackeray, 1807 December 31

 Item — [36]
Call Number: MSS 29
Scope and Contents:

Piozzi discusses Maria Dore's improving health. She asks Dr. Thackeray to send a servant to find out what happened to a valuable Gainsborough landscape she sent to her daughter as a bridal gift. She also comments on the war. People mentioned: Maria Dore, Sophia Hoare (Mrs. Piozzi's daughter), Gainsborough, Lord Keith and Buonaparte.

Dates: 1807 December 31

Letter to William Makepeace Thackeray, 1808 January 5

 Item — [37]
Call Number: MSS 29
Scope and Contents:

Piozzi says that the landscape painting has been found. Mr. Piozzi is plagued with gout. Mrs. Piozzi hopes the Prince of Portugal will land safely and that Lord Strangford's health will improve. She also discusses the Queen's "sudden return to her senses." People mentioned: Mrs. Merrick Hoare, Mr. Piozzi, the Prince of Portugal, Lord Strangford, the "Old Queen" and Maria Dore.

Dates: 1808 January 5

Joshua Reynolds Archive

Call Number: MSS 30

The collection comprises correspondence, notebooks, writings, and other manuscript material by or about the artist Joshua Reynolds.

Dates: 1749-1816

Thomas Woolner letter to John Frederick Lewis, 1874 May 17

 Item — Box 1, Folder: 5
Call Number: MSS 53
Scope and Contents: "May 17 '74. My dear Mr Lewis, your letter was sent on to me at Paris, and greatly delighted I was to know you were pleased with the appreciation of your wonderful picture. You do not think so highly of your own work as your admirers do, or you could not be surprised at any sum being offered for one of your chief pictures. I am sure Mr Graham's offer was bona fide, as he asked me to find out if the possessor would take the sum mentioned, and as he was willing to give it. £10,000 is a...
Dates: 1874 May 17

Thomas Woolner Letters to John Frederick Lewis

Call Number: MSS 53
Abstract: The collection comprises 15 letters from Thomas Woolner to John Frederick Lewis, written between 1874 and 1876. It also includes 5 letters from Woolner to Lewis’s wife, Marian Harper, one letter from Lewis to dealer William Vokins, and several letters from Woolner’s wife and daughter. The letters primarily concern Lewis’s declining health—he died several months after the last letter in the collection—Woolner’s admiration for Lewis’s painting, updates on the politics of the Royal Academy and...
Dates: 1863-1914, bulk 1874-1876