Skip to main content

Leslie Marmon Silko papers

Call Number: YCAL MSS 637
Scope and Contents
The papers consist of writings, research material, and audiovisual material documenting Leslie Marmon Silko's literary activity and output since the early 1970s. Writings in the collection include drafts and proofs for most of Silko's major works, the three novels Ceremony (1977), Almanac of the Dead (1991) and Gardens in the Dunes (2000), the poetry and short story collections, Laguna Woman (1974), Storyteller (1981), Sacred Water (1994), and Rain (1996), and the essays Yellow Woman and the Beauty of the Spirit (1997). In addition to other shorter and untitled works, there are clippings, photographs, personal papers, and correspondence. Audiovisual materials in the collection consist chiefly of 35mm film for projects identified as "Telarana" and "Arrowboy."
Conditions Governing Access
The materials are open for research.

Boxes 27-44 (audiovisual material): Restricted fragile material. Reference copies may be requested. Consult Access Services for further information.
Conditions Governing Use
The Leslie Marmon Silko Papers is the physical property of the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Literary rights, including copyright, belong to the authors or their legal heirs and assigns. For further information, consult the appropriate curator.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Acquired through various purchases, 1992-2004.
Organized chronologically by acquisition into six groupings: May 1992 Acquisition, 1971-1980. June 1992 Acquisition, 1974, undated. July 1992 Acquisition, undated. August 1992 Acquisition, 1978-1981. July 2001 Acquisition, 1996-1999. August 2004 Acquisition, 1977-2004.
36.48 Linear Feet (45 boxes)
Related Names
Silko, Leslie Marmon, 1948-
Language of Materials