Skip to main content

Provost's office, Yale University, records

Call Number: RU 92
Scope and Contents
The records consist of correspondence, subject files, and committee meeting minutes documenting the administrations of the following provosts of Yale: William A. Brown, acting (1919-1920); Williston Walker (1920-1922); Wilbur L. Cross, acting (1922-1923); Henry Solon Graves (1923-1927); Charles Seymour (1928-1937); Edgar S. Furniss (1937-1958); Norman Sydney Buck (1958-1961); Kingman Brewster, Jr., designate (1961-1963); and Charles Henry Taylor, Jr., acting (1963-1964). The records also include copies of minutes of the Yale Corporation.
Conditions Governing Access
The materials are open for research.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
The records were transferred from the Office of the Provost, 1955-2002 and the Office of the President, 2014.
The records are arranged in two series: I. Administrative Files, 1919-1964. II. Committee Minutes, 1914-1951; and subsequent accessions.
40 Linear Feet (95 boxes)
Related Names
Yale University. Office of the Provost
Brewster, Kingman, Jr., 1919-1988
Brown, William Adams, 1865-1943
Buck, Norman Sydney, 1892-1964
Cross, Wilbur L. (Wilbur Lucius), 1862-1948
Furniss, Edgar S. (Edgar Stevenson), 1890-1972
Graves, Henry Solon, 1871-1951
Seymour, Charles, 1885-1963
Walker, Williston, 1860-1922
Language of Materials