Skip to main content

Series VII: Music, 1920s-1989

Call Number: MSS 56, Series VII


  • 1920s-1989


Language of Materials

From the Collection:

Materials chiefly in English.

Physical Description

20 boxes (8.4')

Conditions Governing Access

From the Collection:

The Papers are open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment.


This series is divided into four subseries, each organized alphabetically by composer and title: A., a composition possibly by Kirkpatrick (perhaps as work for a Boulanger class at Fontainebleau) and a cadenza for Mozart's Piano Concerto, K. 503; B., a large collection of editions and arrangements of Medieval through modern music (including Kirkpatrick's fine edition of Bach's Chromatische Fantasie und Fuge and incomparable work with the music of Ives and Ruggles); C., published Ives scores with Kirkpatrick's markings (many annotations relating to the search for Ives's purported "hidden" use of the sequence "B-A-C-H" are seen here and also in Ives scores in subseries B.); and D., a collection of scores sent to Kirkpatrick by many composers and editors.

Kirkpatrick's titles appear exactly as found on the pages (except for their capitalizations). Items designated "holograph" are in the hand of the composer. Kirkpatrick's work is referred to as "manuscript" for his arrangements, and "copy" for his editions.

There is significant holograph material in subseries B., especially under Chanler, Copland, Finney, Heyman, Ide, Johnson, Palmer, and Ruggles.

Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours