Skip to main content

[Appalachian spring. Suite, orchestra] Appalachian Spring : (Ballet for Martha) / Aaron Copland. -- New York : Boosey & Hawkes, c1945.

 Part of Collection — Box: 29A/56, Folder: 605
Call Number: MSS 29, MSS 29A, Series II


  • 1804-1990 (inclusive)


Language of Materials

From the Collection: Materials chiefly in English.

Physical Description

1 miniature score (82 p.) ; 27 cm.

Conditions Governing Access

From the Collection: The collection is open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment. Some of the materials may be stored at the Library's off-campus shelving facility, so researchers should allow at least two business days to have the appropriate boxes paged.


Duration: about 20 minutes.

Note: The original scoring called for a chamber ensemble of thirteen instruments. The present arrangement for symphony orchestra was made by the composer in the spring of 1945. It is a condensed version of the ballet...

Contains pencil markings by Virgil Thomson.

Cover title.

Pl. no.: B & H 9054.

Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours