Skip to main content

Series I: Music, 1911-1986

Call Number: MSS 65, Series I

Scope and Contents

This series includes manuscript and printed music by Kay Swift and composers with whom she was associated personally or professionally. The music is divided into six subseries: Subseries A-C are distinguished by genre; Subseries D comprises Kay Swift's unidentified sketches; and Subseries E and F consist of music by other composers. Kay Swift's musical works are ordered alphabetically; Subseries E and F are ordered first by composer and then by title of composition.

Uniform titles are used to bring together all manifestations of a work with different titles. For multiple-part works, full or partial scores appear first, followed by other versions of individual compositions in different formats. In some cases (i.e. Paris '90) cross references are present between parts of a work and pieces that are included with another work.

Where identification is possible, sketches for each composition are kept with the completed music for a given project. The unidentified sketches in Subseries D are arranged by genre.

Scripts, outlines, project proposals, and lyric sheets for the musical works can be found in Series II. In addition, Series IV contains project folders for many of these works. Boxes and folders are numbered consecutively throughout the series.

Additional music composed and arranged by Kay Swift during her tenure as a staff composer at Radio City Music Hall (1935-36) may be found in Addendum 1 of this register (pp. 228-234).


  • 1911-1986

Language of Materials

From the Collection: Materials chiefly in English.

Physical Description

4.6' (11 boxes)

Conditions Governing Access

From the Collection: The collection is open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment.

Some of the materials may be stored at the Library's off-campus shelving facility, so researchers should allow at least two business days to have the appropriate boxes paged.


Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours