Skip to main content

The Max Kowalski Collection

Call Number: Misc. Ms. 293

Scope and Contents

The Max Kowalski Collection consists of holograph scores for 13 of Kowalski's Lieder, including 1 of the 12 Gedichte aus Pierrot Lunaire, 3 of the 6 Heine-Lieder, and 9 of the 12 Lieder on texts by Li Po. The collection also holds a printed score of the composer's Lieder, op. 17, published by Universal Edition in 1934.


  • 1913-1939


Language of Materials

Materials chiefly in German.

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment.

Conditions Governing Use

The Max Kowalski Collection is the physical property of the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library of Yale University. Copyrights belong to the composers and authors, or their legal heirs and assigns.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The Max Kowalski Collection was established in the Music Library of Yale University in 1989.


Arranged alphabetically by uniform title.


0.25 Linear Feet (5 folders)

Catalog Record

A record for this collection is available in Orbis, the Yale University Library catalog

Persistent URL


Vocal music by the Polish-German-English composer Max Kowalski (1882-1956)

Biographical / Historical

Max Kowalski was born in Kowal, Poland on August 10, 1882. A year later he moved to Germany, where he was educated; in addition to his musical studies (composition with Bernhard Sekles and singing with Alexander Heinemann), he earned a law degree from the University of Marburg. As a singer-composer, Kowalski naturally specialized in the composition of Lieder. Under the Nazi regime, he was imprisoned in Buchenwald, but he was released in 1939. He then moved to England, where he remained until his death in London on June 4, 1956.

The Max Kowalski Collection
Edited Full Draft
Description rules
Finding Aid Prepared According To Local Music Library Descriptive Practices
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours