Skip to main content

Ravi Goel Collection of Reuven Kosakoff

Call Number: MSS 130

Scope and Contents

The collection consists chiefly of compositions and arrangements by Reuven Kosakoff, in manuscript or in print. Most of the works in the collection are for one or two pianos, and many appear to have been written for young students. The collection includes two volumes of 2nd-piano parts that Kosakoff composed for works by other composers. The collection also includes one letter by Kosakoff to his sister Stella Nahum.


  • Circa 1920-1987


Language of Materials

In English.

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment.

Conditions Governing Use

The Ravi Goel Collection of Reuven Kosakoff is the physical property of the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library of Yale University. Copyrights belong to the composers and authors, or their legal heirs and assigns.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift of Ravi Goel, 2013.


Organized into 2 series: I. Music. II. Correspondence.

Associated Materials

The Klau Library of Hebrew Union College holds Reuven Kosakoff's personal papers. Florida Atlantic University also has a collection of Kosakoff materials.


1 Linear Feet (1 box)

Catalog Record

A record for this collection is available in Orbis, the Yale University Library catalog

Persistent URL


Music by the American composer Reuven Kosakoff (1898-1987)

Biographical / Historical

Reuven Kosakoff (1898-1987) was a New Haven-based composer, pianist, and teacher. He was educated at the Yale School of Music and at the Institute of Musical Art (later known as the Juilliard School), and studied in Berlin with Artur Schnabel. He composed many types of music, including Jewish liturgical works and music for children.
Register to the Ravi Goel Collection of Reuven Kosakoff
Compiled by Richard Boursy
Language of description
Finding aid written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Yale University Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497