Skip to main content

Selected Compositions of Peter Easley

Call Number: Misc. Ms. 52

Scope and Contents

This collection contains manuscript scores and parts for 11 musical compositions by Peter Easley. Among the works included are concertos for piano and cello, sonatas for piano and violin, 2 symphonies, a string quartet, and settings for voice of texts by Edna St. Vincent Millay and Paul Verlaine. Some of the manuscripts are stored in rolls rather than flat, and some are negative stencils.


  • 1943-1965


Conditions Governing Access

Easley's compositions are open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment.

Conditions Governing Use

The collection is the physical property of the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library of Yale University. Copyrights belong to the composers and authors, or their legal heirs and assigns.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was established in the Music Library of Yale University by Dorothy Easley in 1974.


Arranged in alphabetical order by title.


3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)

Catalog Record

A record for this collection is available in Orbis, the Yale University Library catalog

Persistent URL


Selected compositions of the American composer Peter Easley (1927-1974)

Biographical / Historical

Peter Easley, whose real name was Ronald Merl Easley, Jr., was born in 1927 in Salem, Massachusetts. He attended Yale College from 1944 to 1946, completing two semesters, and finished his schooling at the University of New Mexico. He died in 1974.

Selected Compositions of Peter Easley
Edited Full Draft
Compiled by Jean Elizabeth Roberts
Description rules
Finding Aid Prepared According To Local Music Library Descriptive Practices
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours