Skip to main content

Choral Octavos by Yale Alumni

Call Number: Misc. Ms. 57

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of 178 choral works, nearly all of them composed by alumni of the Yale School of Music; the faculty of the School is also represented. The collection was assembled by Luther Noss and consists primarily of published octavos; some reproductions of manuscript scores are also included.


  • 1897-1972


Language of Materials

Materials chiefly in English.

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to researchers by appointment. There are no restricted materials in the collection. Please contact the Special Collections staff to schedule an appointment.

Conditions Governing Use

The collection is the physical property of the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library of Yale University. Copyrights belong to the composers and authors, or their legal heirs and assigns.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection was established in the Music Library of Yale University by Luther Noss in 1974.


Arranged alphabetically by composer.


1 Linear Feet (2 boxes)

Catalog Record

A record for this collection is available in Orbis, the Yale University Library catalog

Persistent URL


Choral works by alumni and faculty of the Yale School of Music

Choral Octavos by Yale Alumni
Edited Full Draft
Compiled by Jean Elizabeth Roberts
Description rules
Finding Aid Prepared According To Local Music Library Descriptive Practices
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours