Skip to main content

Hugo Benioff Recordings Collection

Call Number: MSS 150

Scope and Contents

Hugo Benioff had patents on several electric musical instruments, including violin, cello, and piano. The recordings in this collection are of concerts given at Benioff's home on these instruments by prominent musicians such as Jose Iturbi, Leon Knopoff and John Crown.


  • 1955-1962


Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Sound recordings from this collection are available to stream online via the Gilmore Music Library's AV access system, Aviary. Links to access these recordings are provided in this finding aid. Yale users can login to Aviary using their Yale University ID, to stream these recordings without restriction. Other users are able to request access to recordings directly through Aviary.

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright status for collection materials is unknown. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The recordings included in this collection were donated to Yale by Paul Benioff, son of Hugo Benioff. The date these recordings were acquired by Yale is unknown.


The collection is arranged in one series: I. Open reel tapes


0.5 Linear Feet (1 box)

Language of Materials


Catalog Record

A record for this collection is available in Orbis, the Yale University Library catalog

Persistent URL


Recordings of concerts given at Hugo Benioff's home on electronic instruments he designed, by prominent musicians.

Biographical Sketch of Hugo Benioff

Victor Hugo Benioff was an American seismologist and a professor at the California Institute of Technology. Along with numerous accomplishments during his career, Benioff also created a number of electric musical instruments; in particular a piano, violin and cello. He was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1958.

Guide to the Hugo Benioff Recordings Collection
Written by Jonathan Manton
January 2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description note
Finding aid written in English.

Part of the Gilmore Music Library Repository

120 High Street
PO Box 208240
New Haven CT 06520 US
(203) 432-0497

Opening Hours